Closet organization and storage tips.

Interior/Exterior Design and Decor inspo., Lifestyle., Tips.

These are from the interior decorating queen, Carly Cristman. She is so amazing and genuine, I love her. 

The system used above is the Ikea Pax System. Here are a few more people who use this system:

This system is great, especially if you have a big empty wall or random guest room or what not.

 

Here are her tips:

If you have a smaller sized closet or live in a place lacking closet space, you know how difficult storage set up can be! 

1. Remove Excess
Ask yourself- have I worn this piece in the last year? The last three years? Have I even thought about wearing it?  If the answer is no, it’s time to part ways. I find myself hanging on to pieces because of memories or price tag, but in reality, it’s using up precious closet real estate. If you don’t USE it, it’s time to lose it.

2. Organize
Everyone has a system that works best for them- mine is color coding. I find that color coding my pieces and sub-organizing by style really maximizes my space [and minimizes my stress]. Color coding helps a closet look visually appealing, while also saving you time searching for a particular item. You can still make it look great even if your closet isn’t!

3. Add storage
I love these hanging shelve units. They’re easy, efficient and require no construction [why build a shelving display when you can just hang it up? Cheaper too!]. This is a great way to store a lot in a smaller space. In an area that could probably fit 20 dresses, I hung all of my sweats, t-shirts, tank tops and shorts! These are also great to fold and display your jeans- they hold much more than you could fit hanging, or stuffed in a drawer.

I also like stacking units [you can find similar ones at bed bath and beyond, the container store, etc]. These are great to organize loose accessories, while still making them accessible. I like that I can see all of my clutches and wallets, yet they’re still in a small space. Shoe boxes take up a ton of room- these are also great for sandals and flats!

 

Here is her video that includes more in-depth tips && here is a little tour of the first two pictures.

I hope these helped.

2 thoughts on “Closet organization and storage tips.

  1. OMG, these closets are amazing. I would convert a whole room to a closet if I had the space 🙂 Makes me want to go home and organize! It is so fun to see the before and after photos 🙂 I am currently on a challenge where I am not buying any new clothes for a year, and it’s forced me to go through my closet a hundred times and be creative. I’ve had several of those keep/toss/sell piles, and it is always so refreshing when you’re finished, with a bunch of new ideas (and maybe some add’l $$ from selling clothes).
    myclosetisfull.net

    Like

    1. Hahahah I know. I get theses huge urges to redo my room or clean or whatever and I get so motivated and then once I start and get halfway through with it, I get tired and lazy and keep procrastinating forever haha. There’s so many good websites you can use to sell your things especially if they’re designer as well. I don’t exactly remember the websites but jf I do I’ll leave them as a comment on one of your posts 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

