Preparing for Tests.

School., Tips.

(Sorry guys I’ve been really busy lately) Since it’s testing season, I decided to post some tips that will help you get ready for any test, especially big ones.

  1. Get your full 8.5 hours of sleep.
    1. Especially the week of. It’s important to have enough energy to be able to have a full functioning brain. Spread it out over an entire weekend and take your time. I know you feel like you have to stay up all night studying, but in reality you don’t, getting more sleep is better than studying all night long.
  2. Eat healthy.
    1. I know this one seems unrelated, but this is just as important. Always eat snacks that are good for your brain.
    2. Here are some foods to help fight stress.
  3. Relax often.
    1. Light some candles, take a bubble bath.
    2. I’ve read that it’s scientifically proven that listening to instrumental music helps with relaxing and staying unstressed during the very stressful week. I love listening to something like this. An important thing to remember is that you should try to not to listen to things with words because they cancel out whatever you’re trying to remember.

STUDYING TIPS

•Use flash cards.
I know everyone says this but trust me, this helps. I have found that vocabulary, foreign language, and math formulas are best to study with flash cards.

•Do not study for more than 30 minutes at a time.
It helps to study on and off. It’s better for your brain, and it helps with stress. You don’t need to sit there for hours on end. You’ll get bored and not remember anything. Take a fifteen minute break every hour or so to give your brain a breather.

•Study more often than the night before.
I usually study about a week or so before my exams. This year, I only take two, so I study both for 1 hour each day.

•Study in a quiet area.
This way you don’t need to be stressed as much. Especially if you go to a nice, calm, clean environment such as a library.

• Do one fourth of your studying with someone else.
If you study the twelve days before your exams, then make sure you study for less than 72 hours with a friend or a family member. I’ve found that I remember more things when I do it with a study group.

•Remember to study with things that align with your study style
For example if you’re a visual learner, look at charts and videos or if you learn better through audio, record yourself reading your notes or whatever.

Good luck,

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 10.46.40 AM

Leave a Reply

